New Zealand Statistical Association
2004 Conference

Conference Programme

NZSA 2004 Home ] Abstract Submission ] Call for Papers ] Conference Program ] Conference Registration ] Conference Timetable ] Important Dates ] Invited Speaker ] Organising Committee ] Submitted Talks ] Travel & Accomodation ] VUW Campus Map ]

About Wellington ]

Thursday 1 July

Contributed talks have been timetabled in alphabetical order within sessions. The deliberate exceptions are sessions A1 and D1. Registration will be in room HU 317, while refreshments will be served in HU 324. Both those rooms are off the corridor that leads to HU LT 323, the lecture theatre which will be used for the Welcome and Plenary Session, one of the parallel sessions throughout the day, and the Closing Session plus NZSA Annual General Meeting.

Note, the timetable also has a brief outline of the day's events.

Start Time  
8:30am Registration & Tea / Coffee
HU 317 (which is outside HU LT323)
9:30am Welcome Speech, Stuart McCutcheon, Vice-Chancellor, VUW
Housekeeping, John Haywood
HU LT323
9:40am Plenary Session, Andrew Harvey
Chair: John Haywood
HU LT323
10:30am Morning Tea / Coffee, HU 324
10:50am A1: What's New in Official Statistics
HU LT323
Chair: David Archer
  • Vince Galvin
  • Helen Stott
  • Mike Camden
  • John Crequer
  • A2: Applications I / Methods
    HU LT220
    Chair: Jean Thompson
  • Robert Davies
  • Ray Hoare
  • Murray Jorgensen
  • David Vere-Jones
  • 12:10pm Lunch, HU 324
    1:10pm B1: Sampling
    HU LT323
    Chair: Harold Henderson
  • Jennifer Brown
  • Chris Francis
  • Ganes S. Ganesalingam
  • B2: Time Series I
    HU LT220
    Chair: Peter Thomson
  • Bill Bolstad
  • Marcus Frean
  • John Haywood
  • 2:10pm Session Break
    2:15pm C1: Student Presentations
    HU LT323
    Chair: Jennifer Brown
  • Steven Johnston
  • James Reilly
  • Caroline Roughneen
  • C2: Testing / Diagnostics
    HU LT220
    Chair: Mike Doherty
  • Jin Seo Cho
  • Estate Khmaladze
  • Dong Wang
  • 3:15pm Afternoon Tea / Coffee, HU 324
    3:45pm D1: Statistics in NZ Schools
    HU LT323
    Chair: Sharleen Forbes
  • Geoff Gibbs
  • Mike Camden
  • Catherine Marshall
  • D2: Applications II
    HU LT220
    Chair: Roger Littlejohn
  • Geoffrey Jones
  • Shirley Pledger
  • Carl Scarrott
  • D3: Time Series II
    HU LT119
    Chair: Alistair Gray
  • Laurie Fleming
  • Ozer Karagedikli
  • John Randal
  • 4:45pm Closing, John Haywood
    Presentation of Student Prizes
    HU LT323
    5:00pm NZSA Annual General Meeting
    HU LT323
    7:00pm Pre-dinner drinks, Skyline Restaurant, Upland Rd, Kelburn
    7:30pm Conference dinner, Skyline Restaurant, Upland Rd, Kelburn

    Related Event

    The NZSA invited speaker, Andrew Harvey, will be giving a keynote address on Forecasting with Unobserved Components Time Series Models on Friday 2 July, as part of the New Zealand Association of Economists (NZAE) Conference, which will be held from 30 June to 2 July at the James Cook Grand Chancellor Hotel, Wellington. Professor Harvey's address will be followed by a round table discussion involving Professors David Dickey and Patrick Minford. See for details, including registration for that Friday morning only.